A blogger friend of mine, MsKatykins, asked how my son Benjamin was doing. Because no one wants to receive a response that’s the length of an essay, a respectful answer would be, “He’s fine. Just as active as ever. Thanks for asking!” That’s the proper way to answer such a question; however, I decided to blog my response because I’m not typical. I’m a writer who just so happens to have a kid, and that kid provides me with a lot of writing material. The child is a gold mine, or at least, he was a gold mine when he was younger. 

For those of you who have not been keeping count, Benjamin is six months now (he’ll be seven in a week). And during these last couple of months, the relationship my son and I have has matured. You’re probably saying to yourself that that’s good news, and I agree with you, but it doesn’t really leave me with a lot to rave about nowadays. You remember the ravings, don’t you? Well, most of you do. And for those of you who are new to The Ravings of a Madman, let me catch you up real quick. A few months ago, when Benjamin and I were getting to know each other, we were known to have our share of spats. After our falling outs, I would come here and blog about the arguments I (a grown man) had with an infant. 

And don’t get your dandruff up, no need to call child services. Our fights never ended in fisticuffs. We just got loud with one another. 

So, three months ago, Shardae went back to work leaving me and Benjamin to ourselves. It was rough going at first, and I will admit that I was terrified. I mean, who could I hand the baby off to when a problem arose — such as him crying for no particular reason. Well, I was forced to learn my baby and now there’s not a problem I can’t handle. As a matter of fact, I’m better with him than his mother (which I throw in her face on a regular basis), but that doesn’t stop him from favoring her more. For instance, he said his first word a couple of weeks ago, and it turned out to be “Momma.” Not “Dada”, who he looks to when he’s hungry, or needs a diaper change. His first word was “Momma.” That’s fine, though. I was just happy to hear him speak. Now, back to the point I was trying to make. Benjamin and I are in sync, so we don’t fight as much, which results in me blogging about him less (more like none). I mean, who wants to read me gushing about, “My baby just said his first word, y’all!” and, “My baby is rolling over!” or “My baby is eating solid foods now!” Yeah, it’s exciting for me and his mother, but you could care less, I’m sure. 

Now, don’t get me wrong. Although Benjamin and I are on better terms now, we still have our share of arguments. Just the other day, I had fallen asleep on the living room floor (and I can’t recall why I was on the floor in the first place). I couldn’t sleep peacefully because it was uncomfortable, so I decided to retire to my room and nap in the bed. Well, Benjamin and Shardae was in the bedroom. Benjamin was playing on the bed, and Shardae was doing whatever she does on the computer. I flopped down on Shardae’s side of the bed — because Benjamin was on my side — and I tried to go to sleep. Notice the emphasis on “tried.” As soon as I closed my eyes, Benjamin started screaming, probably fussing at me to get out of the bed. When I refused to leave, he started hitting me and kicking me, while keeping up his hollering. 

“Hey, boy!” I said. “You have your own room, and your own bed. If you have a problem with sharing my bed with me, then you know where you can go.” 

And with that said, I dozed off — intermittently, of course. The boy kept kicking, clawing, and screaming. His mother eventually carried him into his room, and the dispute ended with Benjamin and I napping for quite some time — separately. So, Benjamin and I still have disagreements on a daily basis, but nothing blog worthy. 

MsKatykins, you probably didn’t want a response that’s the length of an essay, so to make a long blog post short, “Benjamin’s fine. Just as active as ever. Thanks for asking!” ;-)

Comments
  1. mskatykins says:

    Bennie, you never fail to amuse me! :) I loved reading this, I think Benjamin is going to be quite a character! Okay, so he’s said one word – just you wait ’til he’s stringing sentences together! Ha! This is fabulous! I love that you were lying on the floor trying to sleep – eh, role reversal? ;) Glad things are going well, you can give me an essay any time! I miss your blogs! ;)

    • blnewsome says:

      :-) I’m glad you liked my lengthy response. And I agree with you: Benjamin looks to be growing into quite a character. I am definitely looking forward to him talking for real. I look forward to out talking him ;-).LOL, and I was lying on the floor because our couches are so small. I’m always cramped up when I try to sleep on either one. And I’m glad you still stop by to read my rantings. :-)

      • mskatykins says:

        Ha – now just remember, you will be teaching him. So if you out-talk him, my prediction is that it won’t be long before he’s out-talking you! :D Bennie, I really think that you should start planning the Chronicles of Bennie and Benjamin (you can edit that for a catchier title) I think you would be able to come up with a cracking series! :)

        You’re welcome for the visit. I’m glad you’re still blogging – I miss your rants! :)

  2. blnewsome says:

    If Benjamin starts to out talk me, I have the authority to tell him to shut up. He doesn’t have that luxury. :-) And I have thought about making a book that details Benjamin’s and my dealings with each other. When I have enough, I’ll take the posts from this blog and compiled them into a book called, “Confessions of a First Time Father.” And there’s always the BoogeyMann series that portrays the relationship of myself and what I envision a sixteen-year-old Benjamin to be like.

    I’m glad you like my blog! Even if no one else reads them, I can count on you to stop by. :-)

Leave a Reply

